NBA Player Apologizes After “Dis” On Twitter

NBA: Preseason-Los Angeles Lakers at Los Angeles Clippers

 

As an NBA veteran and a stereotypical tough guy, its no shock that Matt Barnes of the Los Angeles Clippers was ejected from his team’s game against the Oklahoma City Thunder on Wednesday night. He was ejected after engaging in a minor scuffle when teammate Blake Griffin got tangled up with Oklahoma City’s Serge Ibaka, Barnes rushed over to deliver a hard two-handed shove to Ibaka’s chest.

Shortly after he was sent to the locker room, Barnes posted a tweet using explicit language in which he said he was going to stop helping out his teammates due to mounting fines from the league. The post read: “I love my teammates like family, but I’m DONE standing up for these n***ers! All this sh*t does is cost me money..” Then, to no one’s surprise, Barnes returned to Twitter to offer this apology on Thursday

As a sports fan myself I enjoy following sports icons on Twitter because its a way of actually getting a sense of what a player is like of the court, playing field, etc. In some cases such as this I can’t help but wonder if each player should have an agent or representative who has to approve each of their posts on social media to help avoid incidents like these.

Leave a comment